Salty Kisses and Starlight Wishes

We lay together in the inky, cobalt darkness beneath the freckled twilight sky. Our backs pressed to the plush sandy blanket beneath the golden mountains of San Clemente, Ecuador. As close as we could possibly be, cheek to cheek against our tangled mess of sea- breeze teased hair. My little ones and me. Only two and four, and silenced by the beauty of this place, just like me.

We watched the silhouette of their father, as his weaved in and out and all around the dancing feathers of our first seaside bonfire.  He tip toed into the darkness across the noiseless expanse of sand, peeking over our shoulders in hopes of finding two tiny pairs of closed eyelids. But, their lashes faltered in his presence and any slumber that was lurking, quickly darted to the other side of the world. The amber glow of the flickering flames highlighted the soft round edges of their angelic faces, and they burst into giggles at the sight of their favorite person in this whole universe.

20170123_205246

He knelt to the ground, sliding his hand into mine, and effortlessly fell into his place among our heap on the sand. All was right with the world, all our little noggins and fingers and toes, perfectly intertwined to capture this moment in our minds forever. Our eyes turned to the skies, the tips of our fingers floating above; hopelessly aiming to target every last star. We whispered about the patterns in the heavens, of the dot to dot game that makes up the artistry of the delicately orchestrated constellations.

Soon our voices fell silent again as we succumbed to the predictable rhythm of the surf lapping against the sand. I watched, as a flirty, white foam collected at the water’s edge; glowing in the late evening air. It mimicked the patterns of a pearly lace hem, lifting in the wind; at the edges of a navy satin dress. And then, my eyes returned to our children, as I noticed the soothing rise and fall of their tiny chests. Their only betrayal, that sleep had welcomed them.

The silence of civilization collided with the thunder of nature, as my husband and I lay together, welcoming in the arrival of secluded night time. The crickets and geckos sang their songs, like the cello and the violin, singing into the sparkling blackness. A little yellow crab darted past my chin, all along the sand between our bodies, over my knee, and then back into oblivion. The stars jogged on their axis, as the sky tilted away from them, sliding them further into the abyss. We watched a tiny orange spot that was Venus on the horizon, as it slid from view beneath the impossible seam of sea and sky.

We lay there for what seemed like hours, no words between us, just the pulsing blood between our palms.  We were tucked against the most perfect cradle, in the comfort of the sand that held the sun in its memory. In those moments we were granted an escape, a removal from civilization, freedom from socialization. We found ourselves blanketed in every perfect ounce of solace that nature brings to the spirit.

We have realized a gift for our children, for our selves, and for our family as a whole. We will be accepting it, allowing macrocosm to infiltrate our lives. There will be much, much more of this: salty kisses and starlight wishes…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

summer-deals
Please kindly PIN this article!

 

45 Comments Add yours

  1. Nancy Allen says:

    Beautiful Stephanie! I can visualize the four of you on the beach enjoying the quiet evening. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for enjoying and taking the time to comment! 🙂

      Like

  2. Jake says:

    I was right there enjoying the sights and sounds of nature. Thank you for sharing your family moments. Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for visiting our blog and leaving your feedback. Much appreciated!

      Like

  3. Christine K says:

    I love Ecuador and want to return. How lovely that you were able to share this special place with your family. Your photos really help tell the story as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ecuador is a very special place worth exploring over and over again! Thank you so much for enjoying the post and our blog 🙂

      Like

  4. Kari (Happy Coconuts Travel Blog) says:

    This looks and sounds spectacular! Your words are very colorful and this is very well-written, such a smooth read. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It surely was! Thank you so much for your kinds words and compliments, I really appreciate them 😀

      Like

  5. Hendrik says:

    So romantic… and so beautifully written. I can exactly imagine and it feels great. To have such a gift of a family with kids to spend such moments – obviously the highest form of luck in life 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so happy that you received my writing so well! And you are right, to experience these moments with my family is surely the highlight of it all!

      Like

  6. Tracy Kuhl says:

    Your writing is so beautiful. Words that are well crafted and eloquent. You are def a blog I will continue to follow!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, I am so honored to gain a faithful follower. 🙂 It feels really good to be appreciated, thank you for taking the time to leave your kind compliments!

      Like

  7. Sooo lovely. You write so well. I was enraptured.
    Alison

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Coming from you, always means the most! Thank you, Alison! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Neha Gupta says:

    This is such a refreshing read! And I mean it in the way you have written. It’s not a blog. It’s not an article. It’s a story. I just breezed through it. Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thank you so much, without a doubt the best review I could receive!! So happy that you have appreciated it 🙂

      Like

  9. thewordhermit says:

    Oh, this makes me want to head to the beach with my family! Such a beautiful description!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Do it! It is such a relaxing way to celebrate nature with the whole family 🙂

      Like

  10. Bernie Brown says:

    The way you describe things down to the detail of the crab on your chin to the lace hem of the ocean paints a picture much like the mural you painted on your first baby’s wall. You are so multi talented.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I have recently discussed this with another writer/artist that I admire very much. About finding my voice: It seems to me that I am finally finding my words as a blogger. For me, it is to show my readers how an artist sees the world!

      Like

  11. Bhushavali says:

    Spending a night in a secluded forest or beach with my man is a dream, since long for me. I’m just speechless that you made it and I’m inspired too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, always happy to inspire! We can’t wait to set out and do it again 🙂

      Like

  12. I’m a solotraveler and this just made me wanna have a family and go on a nice trip like this and write about it 🙂 Totally enjoyed it. Your writing is on the spot 🙂
    Anna
    http://www.annasherchand.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, that is quite the compliment! 😀 Pass the the joy of travel on to your kids when you get the chance. The world is even better through their eyes!

      Like

  13. NWRoadtrips says:

    Beautiful. This really is what travel should be all about. Nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. gokulr27 says:

    Loved the post…..esp the title….that is a nice small happy family.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. What a beautiful piece. The blogging-sphere needs more of this. You write beautifully!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thank you very much! What a wonderful compliment, I really appreciate it 🙂

      Like

  16. Snigdha says:

    What a poetic start and finish.. I virtually travelled with you with your words. A very good read. I really enjoyed every bit of it. Thanks for the share.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed it. Thank you for very much for stopping by to read and comment!

      Like

  17. How beautifully written! You made it sound so romantic! I think you could make a horrible trip sound amazing. I feel like I am going to have to look up macrocosm. Looked it up Learn something new everyday!

    Like

    1. Well, thank you very much! I am glad you enjoyed the post..and had fun looking up a word! I love it when that happens 🙂

      Like

  18. mohitarts says:

    great work..and the use of vocabulary is so just perfect blend in the story..

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I love the way that this has been written. Very different from a lot of family travel blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much! It’s hard to find a way to stand out, but I think I’m finally finding my voice 🙂

      Like

  20. Hi, I run a community for families who love independent travel and I’ve recently started a new #FeatureFriday piece where I showcase a family travel blog or featured article.
    I would love to feature your blog as we have a lot of families on or planning round the world trips, so your posts on Ecuador would be welcomed.
    The group is on Facebook under the same name as the website.
    Let me know 🙂
    Susannah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That would be absolutely wonderful, I would really appreciate the feature. Please let me know how I can help you. You can message me on at Facebook.com/8duffels.

      Like

      1. Hi, I’ve sent a message to your Facebook page 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  21. LP says:

    Really beautiful- it sounded so romantic

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

